Pune Administration

Pune, Maharashtra’s second largest city, is located in Haveli Taluka of Pune district. Pune Metropolitan Area consists of Pune city and the suburb of Pimpri-Chinchwad. The Municipal Corporation is responsible for the administration of the city which is divided into 48 wards. Each ward is represented by three corporators who are directly elected. Pune Cantonment, however, is administered by the Pune Cantonment Board. The suburb of Pimpri-Chinchwad is administered by its own municipal corporation. There are plans to merge 15 more villages into the city, increasing the city’s jurisdiction from 430 sq. km to 552 sq. km.

Pune Municipal Corporation


The various branches of administration in Pune consist of the Municipal Corporation, District Collector’s Office, Police Commissioner’s Office and the District and Sessions Court.

Pune Municipal Corporation

The Pune Municipal Corporation (PMC) or the Pune Mahanagar Palika is at the apex of administration in Pune city. Established in 1950, it is headed by a Municipal Commissioner, an IAS officer, with the Mayor as a titular head. The municipal commissioner is assisted by an Assistant Municipal Commissioner. Pune Municipal Corporation is located in Shivaji Nagar, in the heart of the city. Its functions include collection of property tax, development of roads, solid waste management, water supply and sewerage, fire brigade, implementing JNNURM projects, tree planting, tree census, flood control, collection of octroi, running of primary schools and hospitals and heritage conservation. It has also implemented a number of e-governance initiatives in order to improve its services and also maintains kiosks throughout the city for better accessibility.

Each ward of the city is represented by three corporators, who are directly elected by the people. They are headed by the mayor, who is assisted by a deputy mayor. Ward offices headed by assistant municipal commissioners further facilitate the smooth functioning of the PMC.                                                                                  

District Collector’s Office

The District Collector’s Office is responsible for administration in Pune district. Pune city is the headquarters of the district which is divided into 15 talukas. The District Collector is assisted by an Additional Collector. The District Collector’s Office oversees revenue administration, accounts, law and order, supply of drinking water, national and state elections, collection of entertainment duty, land acquisition, auction of sand, issuance of khate pustika and acting as a special executive magistrate.

Police Commissioner’s Office

Pune Police is headed by a Commissioner of Police who is assisted by a Joint Commissioner of Police. They are supported in the discharge of their duties by Additional Commissioners who are assisted by Deputy Commissioners. Pune Police exercises its jurisdiction through 33 police stations grouped into two regions and four zones. This also includes Pimpri-Chinchwad. Pune Police has separate crime, traffic and special branches. The Police Commissioner’s Office is located in Camp.  

District and Sessions Court

The Pune District and Sessions Court, located in Shivaji Nagar, is responsible for all civil and criminal matters in the district and comes under the jurisdiction of Bombay High Court. It is headed by a Principal District and Sessions Judge.

Important contact numbers

  • Municipal Commissioner: +91 20 25501103
  • Assistant Municipal Commissioner: +91 20 25501303
  • District Collector: +91 20 26114949
  • Additional Collector: +91 20 26124137
  • Police Commissioner: +91 20 26126296, +91 20 26122880, +91 20 26208250
  • Police Control Room: +91 20 26126296, +91 20 26122880, +891 20 26208250, +91 100

Corporation Elections

Elections to Pune Municipal Corporation are held once in five years. The District Collector’s Office oversees preparation of the electoral rolls for national and state elections. Currently, the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) holds the majority in Pune Corporation, the elections to which were held in 2012. The other parties represented in the corporation are the Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS), Indian National Congress (INC), Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Shiv Sena. The mayor and deputy mayor enjoy a term of one year.
Free Listing