Local Bodies in Pune

Pune city is the district headquarters of Maharashtra state. It has witnessed the administration of various royal dynasties such as Mughals, Nizamashahi, Chhatrapati Shivaji of Maratha Empire, Peshwas and later on the Britishers. The administrative borders of Pune have remained intact since 20th century except the merger of certain talukas of Bhor state area.

Pune district consists of 15 talukas, 13 panchayat samitis and 1870 villages. There are 18 Vidhan Sabha constituencies and 4 Lok Sabha Constituencies. Pune city is the main city however Pimpri Chinchwad is considered the twin city and the second major city of Pune district.

There are three local bodies which are responsible for the administration of Pune. All these bodies have their own vested powers but work in mutual co-operation to meet the administrative needs of Pune residents.
  • Pune Municipal Corporation
  • Pune City Police
  • Pune Metropolitan Area

Pune Municipal Corporation (PMC)

Pune Municipal Corporation was established on 15th February 1950 to look after the civic and infrastructural needs of the citizens of Pune. It is considered as the urban local government of Pune. Pune Municipal Corporation is also alternatively known as Pune Maha Nagar Palika.

It is headed by the Municipal Commissioner who is an IAS Officer, appointed by the government of Maharashtra. Apart from him there is Municipal Board which is represented by the Mayor and the different members representing the various wards. The Municipal Commissioner has the executive powers of PMC while the mayor of Pune acts as the representative of Pune and has restricted duties.

The total number of members in PMC is 152. The city of Pune is divided into 48 municipal wards represented by 3 members from each ward. The local administration of wards is mainly administered by an Assistant Municipal Commissioner. The members of the different wards are elected by the people through municipal elections which are held at regular intervals and in which local members of all major political parties participate.

With an objective of providing better services to the citizens of Pune, PMC has introduced the services of e-governance to reach the masses instantly. The e-governance initiative will change the way PMC works and bring upgraded and better facilities for the citizens.

The city of Pune comes under the Haveli Taluka of the District of Pune in Maharashtra. Like other major cities of India, Pune too has a District Collector who is accountable for the revenue administration of the city. The Collector synchronizes the working of all the other state government departments within the district of Pune. He is also assigned the responsibility of maintaining the property records of the city and organizing the national elections here. The office of the collector has several branches or departments. The office of the Collector is supported by the Deputy Collector who is appointed to assist the collector by reporting him about the working of all several departments.

Panchayati Raj System

The Panchayati Raj System is akin to Pune Municipal Corporation but is solely responsible for the rural governance of Pune.  There is a Zilla Parishad at district level, Panchayat Samiti at Taluka level and Gram Panchayat at village level.

At present, the key representatives of local administration of Pune are:
  • Mayor of Pune: Mrs. Vaishali Sunil Bankar
  • Municipal Commissioner of Pune : Mr. Mahesh Pathak
  • District Collector : Mr Vikas Deshmukh
  • CEO of Pune Zilla Parishad : Mr Anil Kawade

Pune City Police

Pune City Police, the division of Maharashtra State Police is the law enforcement agency working under the wing of Home Ministry. The Pune Police Commissionerate was formed on 1st July, 1965 with the aim to provide triple SSS (safety, security, satisfaction) to the residents of Pune. It is responsible for maintain the law and order in Pune.

The history of Pune City Police dates back to the Peshwa era when an official department of police was established. But there were still overlapping of duties between the royal rulers, military and the police head. It was the Britishers who restructured the police force to give it the face of the modern day police department that exists now.

The Pune Police Commissioner, an IAS officer heads the Pune City Police supported by Joint Commissioner of Police, Additional Commissioner of Police, Deputy Commissioner of Police and various other senior police officials. The existing Commissioner of Police, Pune is Mr Gulabrao Pol.

The Pune City Police operates across 33 police stations based in north and south regions of Pune which are further divided into four zones. It is responsible mainly for following branches:
  • Crime Branch
  • Traffic Branch
  • Foreigners Registration Office (FRO)
  • Licenses
Click here to know more about Pune City Police

Pune Metropolitan Region Development Authority (PMRDA)

Pune Metropolitan Region Development Authority was set up as the executive wing of Pune Metropolitan Planning Committee (PMPC). This authority is responsible for the development of Pune Metropolitan Area which mainly comprises of Pune City and Pimpri Chinchwad. It can acquire, develop or sell the land to ensure a planned growth of its regions.

There are five administrative regions under Pune Metropolitan Area:
  1. Pune City
  2. Pimpri-Chinchwad
  3. Dehu Cantonment
  4. Khadki Cantonment
  5. Pune Camp
The main aim of PMRDA was to bring all the above regions and other neighbouring villages under one single roof for a better administration. However PMRDA has been quite inactive since its formation due to various reasons like shortage of funds, lack of necessary staff, internal conflict between the planning committee and so forth. It still remains to be seen how and when PMRDA would achieve the objectives it has set for itself.

Important Links:
Free Listing