Geography of Pune

Since Pune lies at about 560 metres above sea-level, it tends to remain cool and pleasant all year round. Its larger area covers about 700 square kilometres. It is a green and sprawling city, especially characterized with huge, ancient banyan trees lining the road side.

Map of Pune

Population of Pune

Pune is amongst the fastest growing cities in India. In 2011 census, Pune was the 9th most populous city in India. The traffic tends to get congested in the interiors. At one time after Independence, in 1950, the population of Pune was around 6 lakhs. Now it has multiplied several times, and during the Government Census of 2011 it stood at 3,115,431. The population density is 11,000 per square kilometre.

The sex ratio is not up to the mark, as is the case with most Indian cities. The sex ratio is 945 females per 1000 males. Pune mostly consists of an indigenous Marathi population.

Since Pune is an educational hub, it is important to note one thing about Pune. It has a lot of floating population of students attending renowned universities and institutes based in Pune.

Rivers in Pune

Pune has four main rivers traversing through it.
  • Mula River
  • Mutha River
  • Pavana River
  • Indrayani River
Of the four above-mentioned rivers, Mula and Mutha rivers merge in Pune to form the Mula-Mutha River. Mula River originates from Mulshi Dam and Mutha River originates from the Western Ghats.

Pavana and Indrayani rivers are tributaries of Bhima River. These two rivers go along the northwestern outskirts of Pune. Both these rivers are now highly polluted. Pavana River merges with Mula River in Pune. It divides Pune city and the Pimpri-Chinchwad area. A dam is built on this river. It is called the Pavananagar dam.

Indrayani is a rain-fed river originating from the hill town of Lonavala. It is a holy river deeply revered by the locals. A hydroelectric dam called Valvan Dam has been built on it.

Climatic Conditions of Pune

Pune is situated at a height, and thus the residents of Pune enjoy very comfortable and pleasant climatic conditions almost all through the year. This city is situated on the leeward side of the Western Ghats and thus, has unpredictable weather at times. Days tend to be dry and sunny and mornings and evenings turn cool. Like most other cities of India, Pune has a tropical climate comprising of three main seasons - summer, monsoon and winter.


Summer in Pune begins in March and continues till May. The peak temperatures may rise till 38 degree Celsius, usually in April. Every year, during the receding days of summer and before the onset of monsoon in May, Pune receives heavy thunderstorms.


After the months of summer, monsoon begins in June and usually lasts through October, with July receiving the most amount of rainfall. Also, there are frequent hailstorms in Pune. The weather considerably cools down to an average temperature between 22 to 28 degrees Celsius.


November indicates the onset of winter in Pune. There is colloquial saying - ‘gulabi thandi’ meaning ‘Rosy Cold’ used for that early nip in the air. The minimum temperature in the past years during winter in Pune has gone down to 6 degree Celsius. But on an average, daytime temperatures are 28 degree Celsius and the nights are cold at degree Celsius.

Map of Pune

Pune lies at the foothills of Sahyadri mountain range. It is about 180 kms in distance by road from Mumbai. It lies between 18 degree 32" North latitude and 73 degree 51" East longitude. Since Pune is at a height of 560 metre, the city is fairly tourist-friendly in terms of weather all year round.

It is a plateau; thus, is often referred to as the ‘Queen of Deccan’, amongst various other nicknames given to it. The city is surrounded by hills on the East as well as South.

About the Municipal Zones (Talukas) of Pune District

The Pune Municipal Corporation (PMC) also knows as the Pune Mahanagar Palika controls the administration of Pune and its surrounding districts. Pune is divided into 48 municipal wards and the PMC is incharge of all the infrastructure and civic requirements of these wards.

The Mahanagrpalika Greater Municipal Zones are:
  1. Pune (PMC)
  2. Pimpri-Chinchwad (PCMC)
The districts that come under Pune are:   
  1. Pune City
  2. Daund
  3. Baramati
  4. Bhor
  5. Indapur
  6. Velhe
  7. Purandar
  8. Shirur
  9. Ambegaon
  10. Khed
  11. Junnar
  12. Maval
  13. Mulshi
  14. Haveli

You may also like to visit

Free Listing