A part of Indiaonline network empowering local businesses
Home city guide mlas and mps in pune

MLA and MP in Pune

Maharashtra Legislative AssemblyAfter Mumbai, Pune is the second most important city in Maharashtra. It gained immense political importance during Maratha Empire, which was headed by Chhatrapati Shivaji and then the Peshwas. It also became an important centre for Independence movement in Maharashtra. Later on, Pune became an independent city, with its administrative structure similar to the overall administrative set up of the country.

Post Independence, the political scenario of Pune is almost the reflection of Maharashtra politics, which is predominantly under the control of Indian National Congress (INC) party. However, the rise of Shiv Sena (SS) founded by Bal Thackrey challenged the political supremacy of INC and then to form a coalition government with Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP) in the 1995. The INC suffered a major setback in the later years when Sharad Pawar, the former chief minister of Maharashtra, parted his ways from INC to form a new political party named Nationalist Congress Party (NCP). Since then Sharad Pawar has continued his alliance with INC in the name of Democratic Front to maintain a political upper hand over BJP and Shiv Sena in Maharashtra. Kamble Sunil Dnyandev of BJP represents Pune Vidhan Sabha Constituency. He is sitting MLA from  cnttonment.

How a State Government is Elected

India is one of the largest democratic countries in the world, where the government is selected by the people which are held after every five years. The winning party - with majority seats - is then invited by the President of India to form state government.

Sometimes a situation arrives when neither of the parties get majority in elections. In such situation the President invites the biggest party, which has highest seats, to form the government taking into confidence the votes from other parties of similar interest. After President’s approval the selected party is required to get vote of confidence passed within six months.

The same procedure is followed in the State Assembly Elections. At present, Prithvi Raj Chavan is the Chief Minister of Maharashtra.

List of MLAs from Pune

Among the 288 members of Maharashtra Legislative Assembly, following MLAs are from Pune:

 Area                   Name                                 Address
Bhavani Peth     Depak Paigude               218, Somwar Peth, Pune
Shivaji Nagar    Vinayak Nimhan             Baner Road, Pune
Kasba Peth       Girish Bapat                    212, Shaniwar Pet, Pune.
Parvati              Vishwas Gangurde          A/3/11, Surya Prabha Garden, Kenjalenagar, Bibwewadi
Bopodi             Chandrakant Chajjed       41, Siba Housing Society, Aundh Road, Bopodi, Pune.
Mulshi              Kumar Gosavi                 Vitthal Wadi
Maval               Digambar Bhegde           Wadgaon, Tal. Maval, Pune.
Junnar              Balasaheb Dangat            Umraj, Tal. Junnar, Pune
Haveli              Gajanan Babar                 126/2, Shramsafalya, Mohan Nagar, Chinchwad, Pune.
Indapur            Harshadwardhan Patil      Bawada, Tal. Indapur, Pune.
Daund              Ranjana Kul                     Rahu, Tal, Daund, Pune.
Shirur               Popatrao Gawde              Takale Haji, Tal. Shirur, Pune.
Khed                Narayanrao Pawar           Chakan, Tal. Khed, Pune.
Bhor                 Kashinath Khutwad         Sahil Apts., Plot No. 8, Bibwewadi, Pune.

Members of Parliament (MPs) from Pune

The Indian Parliament consists of the Office of the President of India, Rajya Sabha or Upper House and Lok Sabha or Lower House. The President of India is elected by the Members of both Houses of Parliament and the State Legislative Assemblies. The Members of the Rajya Sabha are elected by the members of the State Legislative Assemblies, whereas the members of Lok Sabha are elected by the people of India in the general elections which are held after every five years.

Given below is the list of MPs from Pune:

Shri. Suresh Kalmadi
Pune Address:      
Kalmadi House
42/8, Dr. Ketkar Road, Erandwane, Pune 411 004
Phone No : 020 – 25431161 / 25433033
Fax : 020 25433072

Delhi Address:
Kalmadi House
2, K, Kamraj, Lane, New Delhi 110 011
Phone No : 011 23793699 / 23792539
Fax No : 011 23793709

Supriya Sule
12, Meena Baug, New Delhi-1
Tel 23018870 Fax: 23018609
Email: supriyasule@yahoo.co.in
Email: ybchavan@bom3.vsnl.net.in
Mobile: +91-9820060033

Shivaji Adhalrao Patil
112, South Avenue, New Delhi -110 011
Tel: 011-23015555, 9820021344, 9873000014 (M)
Fax - 011 23793333

Shri Gajanan Dharmshi Babar
221, North Avenue,New Delhi -110 001
Tel: 011 - 23092108, 09013180261 (M)
Fax: 011 23092118

Explore more about Pune Administration

Major Cities You Must Know

Are you a Business Owner?

Add the products or services you offer

Promote your business on your local city site and get instant enquiries